Skip to content
April 27, 2005 / Kate

Toilet Fish of Death

So I went running last night with Maren and her Dad. Maren is an easy blog entry all by herself, but throw her and her dad together and it is almost too easy. They started out the run by doing the military ‘left right left’ song, but they kept messing up and laughing so they gave up. Now, I cannot run and talk at the same time, but Maren does it quite well. When she talks to me during a run, the most she will get out of me is a grunt or two. But her dad can have a conversation with her. It went like this:
Maren(to me): Ooh, he’s cute! I love tattoos. Okay, maybe not all tattoos. A guy with a woman on fire on his back doesnt really do it for me.
Me: Ha! hgbphltsee (wheez, wheez)
Maren(to her dad): Okay, so should Lynne call Harry, or should Harry call Lynne?
Dad: Harry should call Lynne
Maren: Okay, I”ll tell him

As I stopped on the Hawthorne bridge to try and catch my breathe, I noticed a fisherman on a boat directly below me. First of all, ew. The Willamette is a yellow-green, slimy toilet river that you can literally smell from several yards away. I would never put my body in that water, let alone eat a fish from it.
I watched him pull in his empty line and grab another bait fish from his cooler thingy. He then whipped out a can of WD-40 and sprayed it all over his bait! WTF? If he actually ends up catching a diseased Willamette Toilet Fish and it, by some miracle has the appropriate number of fins and eyes and mouths, then it will have ingested WD-40 and therefore whoever is stupid enough to eat a nasty Willamette Tainted Death Fish will also consume WD-40. Is he trying to kill someone?

By the time I regained my composer and succesfully had stuffed my rage, it was dark and Maren and her dad were long gone. I had to ask the fisherman for a ride home.

Not really. But I could have because I live really close to the river.

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cartoons! / Apr 27 2005 12:06 pm

    you had a composer? which one? i wish i could have j.s. bach…all to myself.
    now what did you do to your composer that made him run away? was it your nasty bodily ailments?

    composure. 🙂

  2. Kate / Apr 27 2005 12:16 pm

    Yes. I did. His name is Herman Con Franza Hanzenater

  3. Kate / Apr 27 2005 12:16 pm

    I lost him, then I REGAINED him.

  4. cartoons! / Apr 27 2005 2:11 pm

    i’m so happy for you tyka. losing a composer is a difficult thing. *sniff*

  5. Kate / Apr 27 2005 2:16 pm

    Yeah, he saw one of his homies on the other side of the bridge and ran off. He’s always doing that. I’ve gotta get a leash for him.

  6. cartoons! / Apr 27 2005 2:23 pm

    i have a rabbit harness you can use.

  7. Kate / Apr 27 2005 2:27 pm

    Well, he’s a full-sized composer. I’d say he weighs in at about 175 pounds.

  8. toni / Apr 27 2005 10:22 pm

    i’m sorry but i can’t read your blog anymore. i managed to read that one entry about running with maren, managing not to choke on jealousy. but now i see is is going to be a regular topic. and, 100% honestly, i did not read the post i am commenting on. can’t. too jealous. bye.

  9. Kate / Apr 28 2005 8:22 am

    I’m sorry. I’ll try not to blog about running unless something really crazy and unusual happens. And I will try to downplay the running part.

  10. ksnoop / Apr 28 2005 9:40 pm

    I am shocked!! WD40?

  11. Kate / Apr 29 2005 12:59 pm

    Yeah, nasty

  12. toni / Apr 29 2005 3:41 pm

    so… you were confident enough that i didn’t mean it when i said i would no longer be reading you blog, that you replied to me on the very blog i said i would no longer be reading? well, good. because i’m back. here to face it – even the feelings that are hard.

  13. Kate / Apr 29 2005 3:45 pm

    everybody’s special, everybody’s fine. Your body’s special, and so is mine

Leave a comment