Skip to content
October 19, 2009 / Kate

Photo 38

This morning I really turned a corner in terms of recovery from the birth. I was up early, milking goats and everything. I almost feel like my old self. It is hard to believe I had a baby 9 days ago. We are learning how to work the night time parenting shift. Man, it’s hard! Last night wasn’t too bad, though.

Yesterday on a walk we ran into our next door neighbor, a dude, and he said something like, “So…how’s it going with the new baby?” and I said something like, it’s going fine, we’re adjusting and I’m healing. He got this awkward, disgusted look on his face and pointing vaguely to his own belly said, “Oh…right…you have to recover and whatnot…” I restrained myself from saying something like, “well, yeah, my vagina ripped in two places, so there’s a bit of healing to do.” Proud of me? I am.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. name / Oct 23 2009 4:24 am

    Yeah, I think it helps to recover from a difficult birth when you know you were informed and educated and made the right decisions when they needed to be made. You should indeed be very proud of yourself! Kuddos to you.

  2. Serafina / Oct 26 2009 5:27 pm

    Men are so funny about that stuff… They know how it works they just don’t want to think about it. They are like big baby’s themselves sometimes that you have to protect from the “big bad world” haha. 🙂 I am very proud of you though! And deeply impressed…

Leave a Reply

