Skip to content
June 12, 2009 / Kate

Oatmeal Time

A customer I hardly know gifted me with a brand new Moby Wrap (I know, right?) and I wanted to try it out. In my search for a baby-sized model, I discovered that Mr. Muffins the Cat does not understand or value the concept of baby wearing and attachment parenting. I am so glad he is neutered because if he weren’t, his kittens would be eating Frosted Flakes while watching Sponge Bob by the time their eyes opened.

I have another prenatal appointment on Monday, and in anticipation of the weigh-in, I breakfasted on three M&M’s, some homemade vanilla pudding, and a donut. What’s that you say about “quality calories”? I can’t hear you. My ears are stuffed with Oreos.

I am grateful, actually that I have not had many out of control, unhealthy cravings so far in this pregnancy.  I have heard stories of women who couldn’t help but eat an entire Mud Pie every other day, and I am glad that I am not having to fight urges like that.

It is cruel, however, that my one strong pregnancy craving, Tapatio, is something I can no longer eat. I have reached the Heartburn from Hades phase of pregnancy. In my birthing class last week I listened to all the other women complain about having to sleep sitting up in bed because of heartburn, and I thought, “Oh, that’s too bad for them. I am so glad that’s not happening to me”. I swear to you, that same night I was struck down mightily with the worst heartburn I have ever felt. I’ve had about 6 hours of sleep total this week.
That will teach me…about babies…or something.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Jun 16 2009 3:11 pm

    I don’t remember having that problem then, but about 6 mos. after your birth, I did…but you know about that…what I wanted to say is that …and upholstered rocker recliner was the one piece of baby furniture that I absolutely could not live without because I could be comfortable while rocking baby and when she went to sleep, I just reclined it and went to sleep as well since , she would not sleep anywhere except on my chest…ha, ha…they work great for sleeping with heartburn even though they make the boring , way to comfortable American mini-van statement…I just didn’t care when it came to getting enough sleep…Craig has about 3 million daily on his list.

  2. Toni Rose / Jun 22 2009 2:42 pm

    A stranger gave you a moby wrap?! How thoughtful and amazingly generous!

Leave a Reply

