Skip to content
April 22, 2009 / Kate

For Serious

Okay, my instinct is to be jokey and totally not for serious when it comes to blogging about little Lanugo* and my hopes and dreams for him (or her). But I would like to let people in a little and tell you some of our real plans. It seems that some people think I am serious when I say that all I need is a bouncer with lights on it, or that my nursery theme desperately needs to be established. I’m just trying to have a little fun people! This baby stuff gets ridiculous.

We are planning on having a home birth with a rented birthing tub. At this point, I am very attracted to using the water in labor. Who knows in the moment what I will want, but I want a tub available to me. I am reading a lot about having an open birth plan, ready for changes. I might want to walk outside and have my baby hanging from a tree branch, who knows? I might go jump in the pond and have the large mouthed bass deliver him/her. I hear fish make great midwives. Speaking of midwives, mine is awesome and has more experience than I have years. She brings another certified midwife with her to her births.

We won’t be having an ultrasound. I am glad the technology is there, but I think it is overused. I won’t use it unless my midwife thinks there is something unusual happening to me that needs to be investigated. Sorry folks, I won’t be posting blurry photos of Lanugo on Facebook until she is breathing on her own.

We live in a one bedroom apartment on our farm. There is no nursery to be found. Lanugo’s nursery theme will be Farty Air and Pet Hair. Don’t freak out, baby won’t be sleeping under any pets. Some people have felt the need to tell me that this is not okay. THANKS! If it were’t for these kind advice offerers, Nuggy wouldn’t stand a chance.

He will be sleeping with his mom and dad. We have an Arm’s Reach co-sleeper set up and ready to go. It attaches to the side of our bed so that Lanugo can sleep close without being crushed by his thrashy-sleeping mother. This makes snuggling and breastfeeding easy throughout the night.

We’ll be trying out the cloth diapers first, because we are dirty, dirty hippies (see homebirth, breastfeeding, co-sleeping above). We’ll see how it goes. I’m trying not to be too rigid in my plans for any of this baby stuff.

Oh, and as for baby furniture, the co-sleeper and maybe a rocking chair is all that we can fit in our tiny home. No changing table, we’ll use the bed or the floor. No whirly bouncers or swings. Although this looks pretty awesome.

All right, ladies and gentlemen, start your opinions. Go!

*Lanugo is definitely the name. I call my baby that more than any other name. When people ask me what I am naming the baby and I can tell they already have an Opinion on the subject, I like to tell them we are going with Lanugo. Lanuga for a girl. Either way, Nuggy for short.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julia / Apr 22 2009 3:17 pm

    Pshew, opinions do fall thick and heavy when babies are about, it is true. Please don’t take any of my previously expressed advice as anything more than chatty blah blahs intended to say: I hear you ;-).

    Speaking of which: We live in a small space too, our changing table is the top of our washing machine in the bathroom (keeps the hose down a bit easier).

  2. tyka / Apr 22 2009 4:21 pm

    Changing table on top of washing machine is a good idea. You could place the baby inside the (inert) machine to hold them still while you run to fetch a diaper too! I shock myself with my good ideas.

  3. Sandra / Apr 22 2009 4:23 pm

    Congratulations! You are choosing the safest way to give birth – and the best way for mama and baby, as you know!

    And I predict that co-sleeper will be an awesome place to store diapers, remote controls, blankets, and extra clothes. I had one too – and all four of mine ended up safe and sound, snuggled between daddy and me every night until they weaned. What a loving, glorious gift you are giving your little blessing!

    And pets? Wow – no one told me baby couldn’t sleep with our cats – we have four, and they all loved to snuggle with the babies. It’s cute – and, um, absolutely fine. 🙂

    I too refused all tests except the gender ultrasound because I’m impatient. Good for you for having patience! Otherwise, the other tests were worthless to us.

    Congratulations again – I envy your journey, I wish I could take it a fifth time.

  4. maria / Apr 22 2009 4:39 pm

    Oh, I am so going to enjoy this blog the coming few months! 😀

  5. Lunasea / Apr 23 2009 5:45 pm

    I really liked using cloth diapers with A. The hardest part was remembering when the diaper man was coming to pick up the dirty ones. And remembering to close my robe before I opened the door. But you’ll see.

  6. Caroline / Apr 24 2009 12:17 pm

    We’re planning to try cloth diapers too. Every time I think about it, in my head I start to hear Other People’s Opinions that I know are going to flow thick and fast about this. I already dread them :). Maybe I should come up with a snarky response to them in advance…

  7. Taylor / Apr 25 2009 4:22 am

    Disclaimer: The following is useless information but I thought I would share…
    When I first found out you were pregnant I immediately thought it was going to be a girl; however, as time is going on, I am more inclined to feel it’s going to be a boy… perhaps it will change again… We all start out as girls anyway…

    • tyka / Apr 27 2009 8:48 pm

      well who knows? I just hope it’s a baby.

  8. Nadja Robot / Apr 25 2009 6:02 pm

    You are awesome.
    I have heard that if you don’t get a stroller the size of a golf cart your baby will grow up to be a sociopath.
    My friend Anika did cloth diapers, she has some pics on her flickr which mention the brands and she does wash tests and other useful stuffs. http://www.flickr.com/photos/gothiclibrarian/sets/72157607073757574/

    • tyka / Apr 27 2009 8:49 pm

      A sociopath, huh? I heard it was a low sense of self worth. I better start looking on eBay.

  9. Serafina / Jun 10 2009 7:36 pm

    Good for you Kate! I am so excited and happy for you. For what its worth that sounds like a fantastic plan to me, not that I even pretend to be too knowledgable about babys but I admire your bravery. Keep up with the blog its so great to stay updated on how things are going both in your life and the babys. You continue to make me laugh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

