Skip to content
April 21, 2009 / Kate

Oh hey guys

I am back from Portland and my belly is bigger. Wanna see pictures? I know. I want you to too. I can’t show you any because my computer is in the hospital, and Keith is a big meanie and says his computer doesn’t have enough space for more photos. Yell at him for me.

I hope to get this worked out soon because this belly is unstoppable, y’all.

In other news, I love my family and enjoyed spending time with them. Even though they are all certifiably insane. AND! I love barbecued ribs.

Do me a favor will you? And help me come up with a Theme for my “nursery”. There are so many things I have yet to learn about parenting. Did you know that babies cry sometimes for no good reason? Also. They sometimes get constipated or have painful gas. I am not prepared for this! Also! They prefer it if you set up a Nursery for them and they would like it to have a Theme, please. At least, these are all things people are telling me. Over and over. So, not being a fan of Winnie The Pooh, I was considering some alternatives.

Dog Hair
Predators in Action
The Tragedies of War
Bones
Christmas
Bigfoot
Zombies

Can you help add to this list, please? I am so clueless.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julia / Apr 21 2009 8:51 pm

    Okay, so themes in nurseries aren’t so useful. I do recommend a large bookcase and a shelf above the changing table big enough to hold innumerable interesting things (including shoes, always fascinating) designed to keep a baby’s attention for 30 seconds while you try to change its wiggly self.

    I hope you don’t have to worry about a colicky baby, but if you do, we’ve been there. It sucks and then it gets better.

  2. maria / Apr 22 2009 5:21 am

    I strongly disagree with above poster. Nothing over the changing table! In my post birth paranoia, I was afraid of thing falling off the walls onto my precious baby… Craziness. So there you have it.

    As for theme, well, I say it is better to start them early on the spiritual path. I am very disappointed that the St. John Climacus’ ladder was not even mentioned. A theme with a message. That’s what I say.

    You are so lucky though, I never did any of that, they managed to push one baby shower on me and I offended people enough that some still don’t talk to me. It’s awesome, having a baby.

  3. Taylor / Apr 22 2009 6:01 am

    Some themes from my brain:
    Yarn
    Plaid
    The Color Green
    Human Anatomy
    World Currencies
    Farm Animals
    Anime

  4. Jan / Apr 22 2009 12:15 pm

    I always thought the theme of my first baby’s room might be “cat hair”. But then she was born with allergies and poor kitty had to be banned.

    Just in case you need a backup plan, here are some alternative baby nursery themes.

  5. Caroline / Apr 22 2009 12:29 pm

    Of course, as you know, your baby won’t notice her surroundings until like age 3.

    But we’re doing Dr. Seuss. Because it makes us happy. And it’s not madly popular or gendered.

    Are you coming to Elizabeth DeAngelo’s wedding?

  6. jess / Apr 25 2009 5:36 pm

    Auntie Taylor’s got some great ideas. I just thought of “compost” and came to suggest it, but Maria blew us all out of the water with the ladder of divine ascent. You can’t really beat that.

Leave a Reply

