Skip to content
September 18, 2008 / Kate

it’s two for one controversy week at lovers lane farm!

We had the lambs sheared on Tuesday, and discovered that they are much more petite than we imagined. We’ll probably end up slaughtering Marritt’s kids on Sunday and turning our Lamb Dinner into a Kid Dinner. The kids are a nice weight and are super healthy. Kid can be just as tasty as lamb if it is prepared correctly. We’ll probably end up raising the lambs for another few months until they are big enough to slaughter.

I’m glad that there are so many people who are passionate about animal rights and vegetarianism. It appears that some of these people have the time to troll the internet searching for blog posts about slaughtering animals. Wow! I wish I had that kind of free time!

I also believe that it’s okay to eat meat, as long as a person is doing it responsibly. Yes, part of me does feel bad about killing animals and eating them. Most of me feels really good about the way we choose to do it. That’s what I was trying to say in my last post. I’m sorry if it wasn’t clear.

Keith and I have been talking a lot lately about how our time is spent. We pack a lot into every day and we are starting to feel so exhausted that something has to give. But what? We have so much food and no time to cook. If I don’t preserve the harvest, what is the point of growing all this food? If I don’t make cheese, the milk goes to the pigs. If we don’t take the time to slaughter rabbits, they multiply like…hamsters. We are constantly trying to weigh our priorities with the daylights hours. It is all so overwhelming.

When the markets are over for the year, we’ll get one day in the week to do farm work that has been sorely neglected. We’ll also lose the income of the markets.

This time of year in Mendocino County, it is difficult for people like us to not become resentful of the marijuana growers in the area. We work very hard for very little money that gets reduced even further when taxes are sliced out of the pie. The growers don’t have to pay taxes, and their crop is worth more than ours. They also often divert resources (such as natural water, to irrigate their crops for free) and dump toxic waste onto land that doesn’t belong to them for others to clean up. Meanwhile, folks like us are drowning. That’s enough to make a person downright crotchety and resentful: which doesn’t look good on anybody.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Taylor / Sep 18 2008 8:02 pm

    Personally, I like the way crotchety and resentful looks on people like John McCain and sometimes on myself.

  2. tyka / Sep 18 2008 10:12 pm

    Does that mean you’re voting for the Chipmunk?

  3. Dad / Sep 20 2008 12:06 am

    I admire you and Keith for how you are living, Katy.
    You are a great example for people-kind.

  4. Taylor / Sep 24 2008 6:03 am

    No. That was me trying to be funny… I failed. Clearly…

  5. Kate / Sep 24 2008 4:20 pm

    You’re right. John McCain DOES make crotchety look good. Just like his running mate makes gunning down animals from airplanes look HOTT.

  6. Taylor / Sep 25 2008 4:16 pm

    Super hott with two t’s. I hope my next vp is a gun toting bitch who takes pictures with the animals she slaughters for fun.

Leave a Reply

