Skip to content
June 25, 2008 / Kate

I’ve been sick in the loo

Hurgh. Wheezeflur. Hackenblurgh. Ahem. Let me try that again. Who knew fresh air was such an important thing? All that oxygen? Pretty helpful, apparently.

I went to pick up a client from her house on Monday and her grandmother was sitting on the porch complaining about the smoke. “It hurts mah lungs! Burns mah throat!” She said as she lit up a second cigarette.

Public Health (where I work) is always expected to make some sort of “statement” or “advisory” when these sorts of things happen. Stay indoors, they say. Don’t exert yourself outside. Try not to breathe all the smoke into your lungs. Smoke is bad for the lungs. Unhealthy, you might even say.

I decided it was okay to go swim in the outdoor pool at the health club yesterday as usual, even though the smoke hovered over the pool like a fog. I should have just gone ahead and tried to breathe underwater. It would have been like a reverse hookah. By 10 o’clock last night I was vomiting my carefully grilled chicken and cheesy potatoes into our composting toilet, Keith hovering at the bathroom door (“Do you want me to go away?” “YES”. I don’t know if it had to do with smoke inhalation, or eating something weird, but I am still not over it. Everything that goes in my body comes out immediately in a vile form. I don’t want to talk about it anymore.

So I am home, hiding in the bedroom reading One Good Turn and listening to my tummy rumble and the helicopters fly overhead.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Bronwen / Jun 26 2008 9:46 am

    Hey there. Hope you’re feeling better soon. I would like to come and visit your pigs. I just tagged you on my blog for a question-answery thing, if you’re feeling in the mood.

Leave a Reply

