Skip to content
June 22, 2008 / Kate

we went and did

In order to have a well-rounded farm, you need pigs. There’s just no getting around that fact. So Keith took care of that Thursday by driving all the way to Ashland, OR to pick us up some rare heritage breed porkses.

Meet Wilbur:I is a pork

He and I have already established a bond that will not be broken. Our love sometimes leaves me breathless.

Sometimes when we touch, the honesty is too much.

Wilbur has two companions, Charlotte, and…help me out here…what is another female character from Charlotte’s Web?

We bought them from an evil sorcerer, and sometimes they try to kill us with laser beams.

And sometimes they try to disapperate.

But we just give them food and scratches and they decide to stay.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Taylor / Jun 23 2008 5:47 am

    NELLIE!

  2. jess / Jun 23 2008 2:54 pm

    FERN!

    (I like that Taylor and I, independently, decided to shout names at you.)

  3. jess / Jun 23 2008 2:55 pm

    Also, I heard of two great goat names this weekend: Samson and Delilah.

  4. tyka / Jun 24 2008 1:32 am

    Are Fern and Nellie from the book? I really like the idea of old lady names for the lady pigs.

  5. jess / Jun 24 2008 4:16 pm

    Fern was the girl’s name in Charlotte’s Web – the human. I can’t think of other animal names off the top of my head, except for that nasty rat, Templeton. Charlotte’s daughters (who stay behind with Wilbur) are Nellie, Aranea and Joy (I looked it up on Wikipedia).

  6. jess / Jun 24 2008 4:18 pm

    I totally forgot my initial question in all this naming excitement: are you going to EAT WILBUR?? Not that I have anything against eating pigs, but that would be like a fork in the eye to those pet rabbit people. I imagine small children across the country sobbing at the news that a pig named Wilbur was eaten in California.

  7. Kate / Jun 24 2008 5:03 pm

    No, we don’t name animals we eat. Wilbur and his ladies (Nellie/Charlotte) are breeding stock. We’ll be eating their children.

  8. Taylor / Jun 24 2008 9:25 pm

    Yes, so excited I helped in naming a farm animal. FINALLY!

Trackbacks

  1. back from vacation « garish & tweed

Leave a Reply

