Skip to content
June 7, 2008 / Kate

Meet Tuck Everlasting

and Che Guevara.

The newest additions to the goat herd. They’re buddies. They head butt each other by day and cuddle together by night.

Che is a La Mancha, and he looks like a wrinkly Egyptian alien. Tuck is a Boer, and looks like a cuddly wuddly teddy bear.

I got them so that I will no longer have to rent a buck every year to breed my does. LaManchas are known for their sweet milk and sweet disposition. Boers are meat goats. I will breed  my dairy goats with Che  when I want to increase my herd, and Tuck when I want to keep my herd the same and get meat.

I am in love with Tuck and I want to carry him around in an overpriced yuppie baby carrier while shopping for arugula at the farmers market. Che is, well, grabby. With sharp little teeth. He can’t help being needy. His mother abandoned him because he was the first of twins and as she was birthing his sibling, another goat ran over and licked him all clean and she didn’t recognize him and wouldn’t let him nurse. He’s been bottle fed all his short life and he tries to suck on everything. He also has no ears. This is a La Mancha trait that is freakish. Again, he can’t help it. I will learn to love him. It helps that he’s a defenseless baby. Defenseless babies are so cute!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. jessmonster / Jun 7 2008 5:20 pm

    New goats! I need to come visit them (oh, and you, too).

Leave a Reply

