Skip to content
January 12, 2008 / Kate

all things in moderation

I would like to combine my three current obsessions: swimming, reading, and knitting. I’ve been swimming every day on my lunch hour since it’s not really biking weather right now. I lurv it. I swim in the rain, I swim in the hail, I swim when the view from the pool is snow dusted hills. That sounds like a song.

My coworkers are starting to make fun of me because I knit in every meeting. They ask, “is that a small sweater?” when clearly they are fingerless gloves, people. They ask, “could you teach me to crochet?” and I reply that maybe someday when I learn to crochet, I can teach them. It’s a great way to pass the time in meetings that turn into therapy sessions for one or more coworkers.

Now that my college graduation is a year and a half behind me, I have discovered reading for pleasure again. Now that reading isn’t required of me, I can’t stop. I read in parking lots when I have ten minutes before an individual session. When a client doesn’t show up for an appointment, I am secretly delighted because that means I can devour another delicious short story by William Trevor

I’m thinking if I get some sort of floating table rigged up to hold a book upright in front of me, and if I wear flippers, I could invent a stroke that requires me to knit with my arms straight out while my legs kick and my shoulders push the floating table forward. I could time it so that each row knitted is also one lap swum. I could turn pages with my free hand between rows.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lunasea / Jan 13 2008 4:47 am

    We used to have a lot of knitting in our staff meetings and they banned it! Can you believe it?

    I don’t know about connecting all those. I always wish I could read while sleeping.

  2. jessmonster / Jan 13 2008 7:23 pm

    Sometimes I wish I could read and listen to an audio book at the same time (an audio of a different book than the one I’m reading). That’s when I know I’m going crazy.

  3. tyka / Jan 16 2008 11:26 pm

    I can’t believe they banned knitting in meetings. If I didn’t knit in meetings I would not be able to sit still.
    I wish I could read and listen to audiobooks at the same time too. Or have two iPods, each playing a different book, one bud in each ear. That’s not crazy.

Leave a Reply

