Skip to content
December 11, 2007 / Kate

I was at the local feed store, picking up some chick feed, and I noticed some spilled straw on the ground. I asked the feed store dudes if I could have it, and they said sure. They brought out a couple of shovels and helped me scoop it into my truck.

“What are you using this for?” one of them asked.

“Garden mulch” I replied.

“Ohh, sweet.” He said. “Is it a good garden?”

“Um. Yeah, I guess, I mean we didn’t grow much this year, but we had a nice crop of tomatoes.”

 “Oh. I thought I was going to get a joint out of helping you.”

“Ohh! Not that kind of garden. Stuff to eat, not to smoke. I could hook you up with some really nice chard, though”.

“What’s it make you feel like?”

“Uh, full?”

He just looked at me strangely. 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Taylor / Dec 11 2007 2:18 am

    only in ukiah.

  2. jessmonster / Dec 11 2007 8:39 am

    That always happens to me when I go to the feed store.

  3. cuz / Dec 14 2007 7:21 am

    I would like to reiterate my previously stated opinions of hippies and the smelliness thereof. A haze of ganja doesn’t help things.

    Here’s what I want to know: would he have tried to smoke the chard? Would he smoke some kale? What else could we get him to light up? “Yeah, man, you really gotta try this hair. If you really wanna see stars, add a little Vitalis to it.”

Leave a Reply

