Skip to content
August 6, 2007 / Kate

Churchy, Soapy

We’ve officially changed our name to Lovers Lane Farm. I like Chicken on a Goat on a Beehive, but it leaves out the rabbits. I sort of cringe at the name change because I don’t want to appear cheesy, but as long as we don’t make a label with hearts and butterflies on it, we’ll be okay. I’m thinking a rocking van would look good on all of our products. Classic.

The soap is doing well at the farmers market; people are buying it up and saying how much they enjoy it. The vendor across from me came over to check out the soap and started screaming about the nasty products people unwittingly put on their skin. “You’re doing such a great SERVICE to these people! They have NO IDEA! I know olive oil down to the MOLECULAR LEVEL and the fact that you are putting it in your soap is HUGE! If your customers have questions about the health benefits of your soap, send them MY WAY”

I’ll be sure to do that.

It’s funny how quickly a person becomes adapted to a new way of living. I am so used to small town life without megastores and traffic. I can ride my bike anywhere I need to go, and I don’t feel out of place with a messy braid and farm clothes.

I went to Costco today in Santa Rosa and nearly hyperventilated from the crowds and over stimulation. After I found that I had been staring at a package of Bic pens for 10 minutes, I decided it was time to get the hell out of there and I did. I felt so out of place. I noticed how different I looked from everyone else.

I feel that at the church I attend there too. I can’t relate to those people. In Portland I took for granted a church community who knew me and cared about me and shared many ideals. It we didn’t share any ideals and they got on my nerves, at least I had known them for 15 years or whatever and could laugh it off. I sort of assumed I would find that again here, but I realize now that what I grew up with is unique.

The woman standing next to me in church today smacked her granddaughter for getting excited at the sight of a friend. The kid was like three years old, saying “My friend is here!” over and over and the lady just hauled off and smacked her like it was no big deal. It broke my heart and my concentration. I’m already awkward and shy there, I feel like I can’t relate to anyone. I always stand in the back, and today the usher told me to stand farther in. I’m not used to bossy ushers or corporal punishment in church. I’m used to loud happy kids running around and people noisily greeting one another and chaos and choirs having false starts and people singing off key. That’s what I love and miss. It was organic and casual, and its something that I don’t think I’ll be able to find again. I’m so happy and content in my home, though, that the church thing doesn’t feel overwhelming. I have to be content with going home to visit. The church here is okay, it just isn’t home.

I guess life can’t be perfect. I guess I’ll have to settle for nearly perfect.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Taylor / Aug 6 2007 4:36 am

    you should start your own church community in Ukiah.

  2. jessmonster / Aug 7 2007 4:24 pm

    Sadly, I’ve witnessed similar displays of parenting at our church. But, on the whole, yes.

Leave a Reply

