Skip to content
May 6, 2007 / Kate

The other day I caught up on news with The Monster and had this to say:

“The sheep are kind of a pain in the ass. We are debating whether or not to shoot Rasmus and have us some mutton. He’s a teensy bit on the aggressive side and we think he might be a teensy bit on the sterile side as well. We’ve seen him hump Esperanza with vigor, and she’s not pregnant, meaning she’s spent a year in the same pen with him and she’s not pregnant. Meaning there’s a problem. It could be all the fleece, making it hard for them to “make contact” or something.

We got an electric fence that we’ve been moving around the property. It’s nice because the goats and sheep get to eat a more varied diet and we don’t have to pay for their food anymore. They also eat lots of poison oak. And they cry out whenever they see us on the ranch. They scream like torture victims whenever they catch a glimpse of us. Sometimes they scream with a mouthful of food. Like, ‘AHHH, help us! There’s all this great food and shade AND sun and clean water and lots of space to run around! We CAN”T STAND THIS!”

Since then, our dear friends J and J proposed a trade of one Alpine in milk for our two lousy sheep. We also threw in free eggs and milk for a couple of months. They plan to make mutton out of Rasmus, and put Esperanza with their goats. We made the switch yesterday, and this morning I milked Marrit, our new Alpine. Then we had fresh goat milk for breakfast. And it felt so right.

Yesterday I attended my first ever Farmer’s Market as a vendor. All I had to sell were eggs, and I sold out of my 12 dozen in 2 hours. The soap I’ve made will probably be ready by next Saturday, and I will sell it along with the eggs. Eventually we will have veggies and fruit to sell, but that’s a long way off. I will also make candles when I get a hold of some beeswax. Next year we’ll add honey from our own hives to the mix.

I finally planted the garden after breaking down and purchasing starts. It looks lovely, and the 20 (!) tomato varieties I planted will do well at the market.

If you were to tell me two or three years ago that I would be a bona fide farm girl, milking goats, raising rabbits for meat, selling eggs at the farmer’s market, I would have laughed. I have been thinking recently about the night Keith and I first met, and how I cringed when he told me that his dream was to one day have a farm. “Oh great” I thought, “we couldn’t be more different”. But now I could not think of a better way to spend my life than right here, on the farm. With all the animal droppings.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jessmonster / May 7 2007 1:49 am

    I can still see the look on your face when Keith uttered the word “homesteading.”

    Where’s the goat cheese?

  2. kate / May 7 2007 1:53 am

    I plan on making cheese and yogurt this week, hopefully. I have to con Julia into teaching me her fantastic Chevre recipe, though. The yogurt is ON.

Leave a Reply

