Skip to content
March 29, 2007 / Kate

I’ve Got a Fever and the Only Cure is More Baby

I walked out my front door today on my way to work and was greeted by two tiny birds in crisis gracing my steps. One was looking not so alive, and the other was heaving and looking dazed. I think this is a sign that someone is coming for dinner.

I guess should get out a hunk of the feral pig we have crammed in our freezer and think of a way to cook it.

We watched Children of Men last night and it made me want to hurry up and get pregnant just to make sure I still can. Combine that with the birth of a delicious looking baby boy to my childhood friend, Lily and what you’ll have on your hands is a case of Baby Fever reaching bowel impacting proportions. Maybe I should borrow one for a few days in order to come back to my senses. “They” should start a baby lending service for women with The Fever who are not ready to take on parenthood. I would totally sign up, get my fix, and move on with my life.

Most of the time I feel pretty good about raising free range animals, growing our own food, composting our feces, and riding my bike to work, but like Schindler, I feel like I don’t do enough when I read this guy’s blog. No Impact Man! Sounds like a super hero. And he is, in a way. The kind we need today. Go check him out and then beat yourself up about not going without toilet paper too.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kitri / Mar 30 2007 4:08 pm

    I watched Children of Men last night too… strange. Talk about an endlessly depressing view of what life will be like in 30 years. I had the opposite reaction… I was even more aghast at the idea of procreating just so my offspring wouldn’t have to live in a world of violence, hate, and hopelessness. I think I need to borrow a baby too, for the opposite reason! …. in like 5 years.

  2. Taylor / Mar 31 2007 12:51 am

    hi, I would really appreciate a niece or a nephew… I’ll baby sit anytime once I move closer and i’ll love it to pieces… now get to work!

  3. cuz / Mar 31 2007 5:52 pm

    My girlfriend has a theory that every girl who sees that movie has either a very strong reaction to make babies or a very strong reaction not to make babies.

    So far, she says the balance is about 50-50 between the two data sets.

  4. jessmonster / Apr 1 2007 12:16 am

    I haven’t seen that movie, but just thinking about it gives me the same reaction. Baby. Now. Or, of course, just wanting to borrow someone else’s. Also known as babysitting, except that does more to cure toddler/child fever than baby fever, since most people won’t really give up their babies. There’s also the whole feeding issue.

  5. maria / Apr 5 2007 7:26 am

    Hey there 🙂
    Fun keeping track of you guys now that I found you. Hope you don’t mind.
    But yeah, come on with that baby already!

Leave a Reply

