Skip to content
November 21, 2006 / Kate

Cosby Donna

I will attempy to post about Saturday night’s adventures at the Polenta Feed 2006 hosted by the Italian American Society, but I still can’t fully wrap my mind around it. It was…well…bad, but also fascinating in an indescribable way.

An impassive, loud drunk man at our table, a man that looked like a cross between Vince Vaughn and Buzz Lightyear, the only other person our age at the event described it as a “Blue Haired Convention”. It wasn’t just that the room contained more cowboy belt buckles and false teeth than I am accustomed too, again, I can’t put my finger on it. Maybe it was the fluorescent lighting, or the plastic cups, or the plastic tablecloths, or all the Cool Whip, but I just wasn’t feeling festive. Until Donna appeared. Donna made the trip worthwhile.

Donna was the DJ for the evening. She was dressed in a fetching Cosby sweater and slacks, and we learned that she is the local mortician, and a lesbian. The other guests at the table described her as, “Real different”. Anyway, I loved her. We didn’t stick around to see what music she chose to play for the Italian American Society, and I wish now that we had. We were told the story about how Donna got very sick and almost died, and “her panic was, that she would be seen naked in front of the boys she worked with” so she got better. I for one am glad.

Leave a Reply

