Skip to content
November 4, 2006 / Kate

Wetness is the essence of beauty

We hosted a gathering at our home on Thursday night, and lazy drunken sloths that we are, left a plate of mostly demolished lamb on the table. Fast forward to yesterday afternoon when I set out to do the chores and left Mollie in the house. She took that opportunity to partake of the warm and now spoiled lamb from the table, knocking over one of Keith’s precious wine glasses in the process. This morning I woke up early to find my husband in Mollie’s bed, (not uncommon, see Flickr photos) listening to her stomach. “I think there’s something wrong with Mollie” he said. Her stomach was emitting a cacaphony of sounds, and they both looked worried. This has happened before, so I was not alarmed. She eats something that doesn’t agree with her stomach, and it protests loudly for hours. The sounds are fascinating, actually. I brought her up on the bed with me so that I could listen better, and I swear I heard a female voice cry out, “Elisha!” from inside my dog. Other sounds include: a creaking door, cat’s meow, turkey gobble, and various ‘chunka chunka’ sounds that make Mollie sit upright and look at me as if to say, “This is it, isn’t it? This is the end.”

Yes. It’s been a while. Sorry. Actually I’m not sorry. I’ve been busy. I’ve been busy crying over Gray’s Anatomy, Season 2. I’ve been busy baking delicious dinner rolls. I’ve been perfecting my Banana Pecan Chocolate Chip Muffin recipe. And I’ve been hosting dinner parties and neglecting to clean up afterwards.

Here I am, Saturday morning, showered and back in bed, avoiding the disaster that is my kitchen. I want some coffee, but the french press is buried.

We’ve been shopping a bit for couches, and I am saddened to not find any red ones. The couch we are thinking of buying is actually a sort of beige color.Did I just type that? BEIGE? I actually like this couch a lot. It is a sectional with two recliners built right in, a pull out bed, and a chaise lounge. But Beige? Beige Couch Fever? What the hell has happened to me?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jessmonster / Nov 5 2006 11:19 pm

    Perhaps you could put some red pillows on your beige couch.

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who cried.

  2. Taylor / Nov 7 2006 1:36 am

    You are forgiven for not blogging as you were watching Grey’s Anatomy… best show ever…

  3. Cuz / Nov 8 2006 3:02 pm

    You know, with a few well placed ritual sacrifices, a beige couch can BECOME a red couch.

    …or at least a ruddy brown couch.

    =D

  4. Ruth / Nov 8 2006 8:31 pm

    Season 2, Grey’s, I sobbed and sobbed.

Leave a Reply

