Skip to content
May 9, 2006 / Kate

Dough Ashes

Written on Tuesday
Jess went to work, and I am taking the opportunity to use her computer to check up on the world I miss so much. I first went to The Knot to add a reply to our scarily large guest list. The Knot has some sort of useful checklists that I check every once in a while. Apparently at three months before your wedding you should start to take better care of your body. “Huh” I thought as I washed the chips, salsa, guacamole and chocolate pudding down with a Hefeweizen.

On Sunday I started a grease fire in my kitchen.

Let me back up. My little brother wanted to come over to my house and make donuts with me on Sunday afternoon, and I agreed. He ended up searching for aircraft to purchase on Craigslist while I did all of the work.

Donuts are fairly simple to make, but there are two simple things you can’t really do without:
1) a metal slotted spoon
2) a thermometer

I have neither of those things, but I thought I could improvise. The oil just needs to be really hot, and I can use a…cheese grater to fish out the donuts. Perfect!

I ended up burning myself and putting my loved ones in danger, starting a grease fire on the stovetop, and weeping over a charred plate of congealed dough ashes. I took a photo, but of course cannot download it from my camera. This is so hard.

My brother was not impressed, although he did find this and spend the rest of the afternoon brainstorming on how to get it up to Portland.

I also had an appointment with the Lady Doctor at the student health clinic. I assumed that the Lady Doctor would indeed be a Lady, but as I was sitting there, twiddling my thumbs and making faces at myself in the lid of the tongue swab jar, in walks this guy. And I have a panic attack.

Needless to say, I had to quit school, get a job, get health insurance and go to a new doctor. I am exhausted.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Annika Raaen / May 10 2006 3:02 pm

    your lady doctor looked like that? ew. don’t slip on your way out the door, there. what a greaseball.

  2. Kate / May 10 2006 5:42 pm

    well maybe not exactly like him, but he was this latin lover type. okay, so i photo googled latin ‘lover’ and this guy showed up. whatever. shut up.

  3. Annika Raaen / May 12 2006 3:33 pm

    you rawk.
    mwah!

Leave a Reply

