Skip to content
April 20, 2006 / Kate

Holy Thursday!

On this Holy Thursday, a day of reverence and contemplation of the sufferings of our Lord, I have a song stuck in my head. It keeps repeating, no matter how hard I try to push it away

Mmm bop, ba du ba dop
Ba du ba dop, Du be du ba du be dop
Du be dop, ah, doo. Yeah,
Mmm bop, ba du ba dop
Ba du ba dop, Du be du ba du be dop
Du be dop, ah, doo. Yeah,

Ahh, Hanson. Why do you come back to haunt me on this, the Holiest of Thursdays? I haven’t thought about them since I finally got rid of their well worn album, Three Car Garage, my Sophomore year in high school.

My love affair with the handsome and supremely talented (Mmm Bop! Genius!) Hanson was brief, but oh so intense. I think I was about 11 years old, and I was mostly in love with Taylor, the dreamy middle brother. I just tolerated Isaac, the unfortunate looking OLD brother with braces, and Zac, the tag-a-long little brother. I thought if I had to be nice to them to get closer to Taylor, I would.

I was certain that we would cross paths at some point, it was only a matter of time. Taylor was homeschooled, as was I. We would meet at some homeschooling conference or other and I would be cool and aloof.
“You’re not like other girls” Taylor would say. “You can see past the fame to the real me”.
“You’re just a regular person, just like me” I would reply, tossing my hair back. Then we would kiss.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Annika Raaen / Apr 20 2006 3:39 pm

    you made me laugh out loud.
    at work.
    i will be fired now.
    i love you! see you tonight. šŸ™‚

  2. theidif / Apr 20 2006 7:26 pm

    omg that was your funniest blog ever…

  3. Robin / May 1 2006 5:06 pm

    The same day you posted about Hanson, the Taylor Mullet surfaced: http://cityrag.blogs.com/main/2005/04/man_boobs_yes_m.html

  4. Jess / May 6 2006 2:32 pm

    Oh. God. What has he become?
    (This is Kate, not Jess, I am too lazy to sign her out and sign myself in)

Leave a Reply

