Skip to content
April 18, 2006 / Kate

A serious Case of Senioritis and CottonBallitis

I am supposed to be writing a feely goody “journal” for one of my sappy classes, but here I am instead. Why do professors try to soften the language in the syllabus to make it seem like there is no huge load of work or scary exams by calling papers “journals” or “reflections” and exams “quizzes”? We all really know what is going on here. Nothing ever changes. I think I am ready to graduate.

This week is what we crazy Orthodox Christians like to call Holy Week. It is kind of like the Tour du France of religious experiences, except with more fainting spells and less road rash.

We Orthodox love us some fasting and some long prayer services. Mmm yeah! This week is all about spending several evening hours at church, every day til Saturday. Saturday will be spent in church, all of about 4 of the 24 hours. If I were a good Orthodox Christian, (which I am not, just ask my mother) I would not eat until sundown every day this week, and go to all the 4:30 AM services offered. But you all know what happens when this girl hops on her bike without eating first!

Tomorrow night’s service is called the Unction service, it’s all about healing. I love it, and it is very powerful. There is only one problem. The healing oil is administered to your forehead via a cotton ball. I can’t even type the words without sticking my tongue out and convulsing slightly. I have this thing about cotton balls. The things is, I hate them so, so much. I can’t even watch someone else touch a cotton ball. I know it seems silly, but it’s a serious problem for me. I don’t know what to do about it. Hypnotherapy? Shock treatment? Cognitive Behavioral Therapy? Prayer? Perhaps I can ask for healing from my cotton ball induced affliction at the Unction servies tomorrow.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. theidif / Apr 19 2006 9:49 pm

    i think ive come down with a case of senioritis too… as for the cottonballs, i think you should just touch one like carry it around with you until you get used it… name it, feed it, bathe it, tuck it into bed… this will make you learn to love it…

  2. Jess / Apr 20 2006 10:45 am

    Um, Kate? Oil removed by cottonball, not administered.

    I think I scared Mollie with my laughter. The Tour de France? No road rash, but the feet sure do hurt.

Leave a Reply

