Skip to content
April 4, 2006 / Kate

hitting the ground wobbling

Mollie and I arrived safely last night after an exhausting 12 hour road trip. She is such a bad driver, it didn’t help my nerves to take shifts.

I haven’t even unpacked yet, because I started school again today. Remember how I fainted last week? I guess it was low blood sugar. You would think I had learned my lesson, but I like to push the envelope, always the daredevil. I wanted to see what would happen if I got on my bike and rode the 45 minutes to school after not having eaten in 24 hours. Oh man! That was fun! After locking my bike up and wobbling into school, I had another good idea! I would walk up the four flights of stairs to class. Arriving in class, I noticed students bringing in desks from another room, as the class was crowded. I followed suit and carried my own desk in the room. Great idea! I sat down, shaking and sweating, fumbling for my water. My tunnel vision was so bad that it took my a while to notice that, a) people were staring at me with concern, and b) the class consisted of mostly Japanese students, beeping and clicking away at their identical translator mini computer dealies. In fact, I counted 4 other white people in the room besides me. One was a man, no younger than 80 years old, and another was an Eminem wannabe, wearing a wife beater, giant gold pinky ring, and several gold chains, one of which was straining under the weight of a large gothic letter: perhaps the letter s, I couldn’t be sure. He was speaking fluent Japanese with the guy next to him. Turns out, the title of this class (Globalization and Identity) is all about the relationship between Japan and the United States. Maybe it was my low blood sugar talking, but I thought that the title of the class was slightly misleading. Should be interesting, though.

As soon as I got settled I promptly knocked my water off of my desk in such a way that it hit the floor and rolled as far away from me as possible. A kind young man retrieved it for me, and I took it gratefully. I remember thinking, as I drizzled water into my mouth, “Wow, that must be embarrassing for that shaky girl with the helmet”. It was like I was watching the scene unfold from high above me. In class number one, my main objective was to remember to blink and get water mostly inside my mouth. Class number two was all about trying not to throw up, and willing myself not to face plant it while obtaining a syllabus from the front of the room. Can I say? Mission accomplished.

Once you bike to school, you have no choice but to bike back. I did that, somehow. Then I even took my dog for a walk. I shall now be confined to a wheelchair, however. Like Clara from Heidi. I will have a little brown blanket draped over my withered legs.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. theidif / Apr 4 2006 9:17 am

    i read this in class and was laughing out loud… thanks for allowing people to look at me weird… i hope you feel better… perhaps by eating something?

  2. Annika Raaen / Apr 4 2006 10:09 am

    hunny, you need to be nicer to yourself.
    glad you’re back and (kinda) safe.
    can i be your little companion?

  3. Jess / Apr 4 2006 10:28 am

    See, I even laughed the second time hearing this story.

    You forgot to mention that for dinner you had a potato chip appetizer and roasted potatoes as your main course.

  4. Ben / Apr 4 2006 9:05 pm

    Welcome home…to both of you! Do you want to help me drive down there in a week and a half?

  5. Kate / Apr 5 2006 6:25 pm

    Oh my. I don’t think I could do it again unless I took Mollie’s anti anxiety meds.

  6. keith / Apr 6 2006 12:27 pm

    I thought you said you weren’t going to let your blood sugar get this low again? Do you hate yourself and feel you need physical punishment?

    And… you need psych meds in order to be on the ranch???

  7. Kate / Apr 6 2006 5:24 pm

    I need meds to do the drive again any time soon. Nerve wracking.

    Yes. I am a masochist (sp?)

  8. Dad / Apr 6 2006 6:48 pm

    You funny, Kady. You make me raff a rot. You funny gir’.

  9. Pete / Apr 7 2006 8:08 am

    Hope you’re feeling better today!–>

Leave a Reply

