Skip to content
March 30, 2006 / Kate

Only interesting to me

Keith had to go back to work today, so I am womanning the farm by myself. Mollie is helping me by puking periodically. I think she ate something vile when she ran away on Tuesday evening. Yep, she scared the crap out of us by taking off into the woods just before dark. Did I mention the cougars and bears and coyotes we share the property with? Mollie is a city dog and has no idea that it is not safe to go tearing through the woods in the dark. I stood at the edge of the trees and cried out for her through my sobs for about 2 hours. She finally found her way back to us, and Keith carried her in the house and placed her directly in the bath tub. She was covered in mud and ticks and sticks. She had rolled in something that had been dead for a while and her back was covered in slimy grey matter. At least she was safe.

It’s strange to be here, knowing that I will be living here soon, but it is not my home yet. I want to just get started settling in and find a job, but it’s too soon for any of that yet.

Keith and I went ring shopping yesterday and I found myself a wedding band for $37! I couldn’t believe it. The wedding plans are really shaping up, although it is going to be more expensive than we can really afford. Looks like I will have to find a job this summer while finishing up school.

Ramona and Beezus are doing well. They are getting rambunctious and love to jump up on Keith like a dog would.

Man, this post is boring. I forgot how to write.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ben / Mar 30 2006 11:06 pm

    Boring…no way…ticks, sticks, and gray matter, it all makes me jealous, I hope you have more good stories from the woods to bring home. Hopfully not more with tears though.

  2. theidif / Mar 31 2006 11:33 pm

    yeah! i mailed my reply to your invitation today… i hope you get it… i just found out yesterday im in a wedding in july also… busy wedding summer for me…

  3. jessenicholas / Apr 3 2006 11:47 am

    Thought you should know, the new title of my new blog/site is going to be called and we’re back.

Leave a Reply

