Skip to content
November 14, 2005 / Kate

Dog professions, among other things

In case you haven’t noticed, I am now a whore. Look. I don’t have a job, okay? A girl’s gotta pay the rent. I’ve found the new ads helpful, however, with their offerings of wedding centerpieces and other god-awful traditional wedding necessities.

I am currently sitting, numb-butted in my Social Work class. The boring factor is already through the roof, and we haven’t even really gotten underway in this 3 hour class.

There is a class presentation going on, and the presenters are nervous as all heck. I can’t really hear what they are saying, except for the occasional “uh, sorry, okay, hehe, next slide”.

Little do they know, half of the class is blogging, and therefore not paying attention, while the other half is doodling or sleeping/drooling.

There’s a legally blind woman in this class who, on the first day, shoved her hand down another classmate’s bra. Apparently the girl had a tag hanging out of her shirt, and the woman helpfully tucked it in, but went a little too far. Then she proceeded to tell the freaked out classmate how gorgeous she looked. I feel guilty for being annoyed by the blind woman, but I really am. I don’t feel like any of her annoying behavior has anything to do with her disability, so its okay to hate her. She monopolizes the class discussions, interrupts and corrects the instructor, and shoves her hand down people’s bras. Her poor, bored seeing eye dog farts a lot during class and has little doggy nightmares. He’s all mange-y and stinky. I feel bad for him. I think I would probably hate being a seeing eye dog. I don’t think I’d like to be a fire-dog either. There would be a lot of stress in that profession. I might like to be a drug-sniffing dog, though. That would be totally cool. I would feel like I was making a positive change agent in our society, just by using my nose. If I had a nose-related accident, however, my career would be over, and that would be a bummer. I would have to take a job as a guard dog in a train yard or something.

I just tuned back in to the presentation, and the dude said, “they underestimated the breath of the profession”

What was I talking about?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jessenicholas / Nov 14 2005 6:55 pm

    Wai wai wai wait just a goshderned minute! Now dooce I can handle. She must get umpteenbajillion hits a day. But does RedCouch generate enough traffic to warrant ads? If so, how much do you actually make from it?

    i suppose i’m just jealous.

  2. Kate / Nov 14 2005 6:58 pm

    I don’t know yet, start clickin’

  3. G. D. Aiello / Nov 16 2005 3:07 pm

    that was a good blog. you should blog during school more often.

Leave a Reply

