Skip to content
November 1, 2005 / Kate

No time for creativity

Okay okay.

I went to Oklahoma for 24 hours. Well, maybe 27. Anyway, it was my aunt’s 50th birthday and my dad and I decided to fly out and surprise her at her party. It was a costume party. I decided to go as a runaway bride and my dad as an old geezer. My cousin Alison was the only person who knew we were coming and she picked us up at the airport and took us shopping for our costumes.

I was on a quest to find the most hideous bridal gown. I found it. For 8 bucks. My dad easily found some great geezer stuff.

We showed up to the party and Alison went inside, leaving us outside to await her phone call to let us know it was all clear. We planned to run up to the door and then I would call my aunt from the porch and ask her if she had gotten my present. Of course she would say no, and I would ask her to check the porch to see if it was there.

Of course it didhttp://www.blogger.com/img/gl.link.gifn’t work out that way.

She wouldn’t come out to the porch, so we just rang the doorbell and my couin Andrew ended up opening it. He opened it, said “Oh no” and slammed it again. My dad and I stood there, bewildered, wondering what had just happened.

After what seemed like an eternity, my aunt Janice opened the door and immediately fell apart. It was worth it to see the look of surprise and joy on her face.

Uh, here’s another link.

The end.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kitri / Nov 2 2005 12:50 pm

    Yes! I’m glad my ‘monster’ link was a hit. By the way, you’re safe from him in ball bearing factories. Just FYI.

    kit

  2. dad / Nov 2 2005 7:19 pm

    Editor’s note…..

    The following text in Katy’s blog:

    She wouldn’t come out to the porch, so we just rang the doorbell and my couin Andrew ended up opening it. He opened it, said “Oh no” and slammed it again. My dad and I stood there, bewildered, wondering what had just happened.

    Should read:

    She wouldn’t come out to the porch, so we just rang the doorbell and my couin Philip ended up opening it. He opened it, said, “Oh My God No! Holy Shit Kabobs! Go Away! My Life is Over! I Hate You With the Power of Ten Thousand Burning Suns!” and slammed it again. My dad and I stood there, bewildered, wondering what had just happened.–>

Leave a Reply

