Skip to content
September 19, 2005 / Kate

On Lurking

Good morning.

The topic of today’s blog entry will be Lurking: why it is not okay, and what needs to be done about it.

A Lurker is someone who reads a blog, but does not comment. This is frustrating for the blogger because they do not know exactly who their audience is. Great Aunt Imelda might read on a daily basis, but if that old crone doesn’t comment, how will the blogger know that she is reading, and avoid recounting that embarrassing story involving Old Aunt Immy and the turkey baster from Thanksgiving, 1981. Am I making any sense so far? Questions? Good.

There was a breach in security yesterday that could have been disastrous. The RedCouch Disaster Team was on it, however, and the Terror Alert level has been lowered to a cautious yellow.

I know that I have a pretty wide range of readers: other bloggers that I haven’t met, ex-coworkers, friends and family. I think I have a pretty good idea of who reads, but maybe I am wrong. I have no idea.

Now for today’s assignment. I would like each and every one of you to take a moment and comment on this here post. Even those readers I already know about, its nice to hear from you too. Thank you for your cooperation. Blog dismissed.

30 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. G. D. Aiello / Sep 19 2005 10:49 am

    I hate that too…

  2. miserablebliss / Sep 19 2005 11:21 am

    Howdy! I would imagine part of the problem is that your blog doesn’t allow what it considers “anonymous comments” – which also includes people who don’t have blogger accounts. 🙂 Having said that, I read! I read! I read! (and I hate when people don’t comment on my stuff, too, for exactly the same reason!)

  3. Manotas / Sep 19 2005 12:24 pm

    Good point. I will disable that feature for this post. Thanks for commenting!

  4. Jess / Sep 19 2005 12:26 pm

    I realize this will come as a shock to you, and I don’t wish to startle you, but I read your blog. Constantly. Going back to my lurking…

  5. G. D. Aiello / Sep 19 2005 12:37 pm

    K, actually, you do your fair share of lurking too!!!!!!!!!!!
    I just realized that…

  6. Manotas / Sep 19 2005 12:40 pm

    I am talking about people who have never once commented to let me know that they read. I dont do that unless the blog doesnt allow comments

  7. CALIMCKOYS / Sep 19 2005 12:45 pm

    Hello!

    I found your blog through Chooks. I am here to comment and say that I’m also an Aquarius! Cheers!

  8. Ruth / Sep 19 2005 12:46 pm

    I’m not a lurker! I just started reading your blog and lo and behold, you give me the perfect opportunity to post.

  9. Karen / Sep 19 2005 12:53 pm

    Well, far be it from me to drop by and not leave a note …

    …consider me delurked!

  10. cubbiegirl / Sep 19 2005 1:47 pm

    I’m a lurker! Delurking.

  11. s o p h i e / Sep 19 2005 2:13 pm

    ok, yes, i am guilty of lurking.

    ps- you are frickin hilarious.

  12. jessenicholas / Sep 19 2005 2:44 pm

    Great blog! Keep it up! Very creative! In the meantime, here’s an answer to all your jig and lure issues.

    http://homestarrunner.com/sbemail44.html

  13. Sweet-tea / Sep 19 2005 2:46 pm

    Yes, yes, Steve and I read. Although, after this post only he can comment since I’m a non-blogger.

    P.S. Why the name change?

  14. Manotas / Sep 19 2005 3:37 pm

    I like to change my name every once in a while. The boys used to call me manotas.

    Wow, this is great. I’m glad I did this.

  15. emilia / Sep 19 2005 4:14 pm

    Hello

    I’m an English Lurker (sounds like a pedigree dog doesn’t it?) who found her way here via chookoolooks. No particular comment but you asked us not to lurk!

    emilia

  16. Blue Bottle / Sep 19 2005 4:30 pm

    Present.

    But mostly just to make sure that your code doesn’t get messy.

    -S

  17. toni / Sep 19 2005 5:23 pm

    this is my first blogging venture in quite awhile. you know, i was taking a break. but today i’m here.

  18. Bronwen / Sep 19 2005 5:28 pm

    I visit. Pretty often. Read you out loud to Sophie. Laugh a lot.

  19. vasisthadas / Sep 19 2005 6:25 pm

    I never read this piece. I only write random comments. Any correlation my comments may or may not have to your alleged posts is purely coincidental. I am the anti-lurker. I am all sound, no substance.

    Am I crazy, or am I so sane that I blow your mind?

  20. vasisthadas / Sep 19 2005 6:27 pm

    P(ost) S(cript)
    I started actually writing on my blogger account. I needed it for a class. It’s boring. You should totally read it.

  21. Flintstone / Sep 19 2005 8:27 pm

    WTF? Lurker?

  22. ksuave / Sep 19 2005 10:36 pm

    I don’t blog, but I read, very interesting and lively, I guess I am a lurker. I also am not a good writer.

  23. badpenny / Sep 20 2005 12:50 am

    kitties!

  24. Annika Raaen / Sep 20 2005 7:24 am

    comment on mine too, teeka. manatee…whatever you go by now. kisses!

  25. keith / Sep 20 2005 7:50 am

    I am a lurcher, actually.

    I love you.

  26. DAD / Sep 20 2005 9:19 pm

    Hi Katy. I’m your Dad. I read, but no longer write. You know that and you know why. I guess, if this ‘non-bloggers can’t comment’ thing is true, even if I started again, I wouldn’t be able to, which I won’t, so never mind. I’ll still read either way.
    love,
    Dad
    P.S.
    Thanks for the whirl wind visit, I’m still whirling.

  27. Nikki / Sep 20 2005 9:47 pm

    i read occasionally when I have time… you should comment on mine!

  28. cat / Sep 21 2005 8:11 am

    hi. i apologize for my excessive lurkiness! i found your blog through a series of friends on friendster ( i knew keith a while ago.) i find you entirely too hilarious and would never spread your family anecdotes around.

  29. libadoodle / Sep 21 2005 11:45 am

    hi, well i don’t really like being a lurker, but i’m still getting used to this whole bloggerworld. I found your blog through Jesse and he’s told me about you. I thoroughly enjoy your writing!!! and i apologize for lurking for so long.

  30. Anonymous / Sep 23 2005 10:58 am

    I read.. Steve “the cook” sent me over. It makes my day go faster.

    Pete

Leave a Reply

