Skip to content
August 12, 2005 / Kate

Unemployed Woman Walking

I feel funny. It could be the massive hamburger I had for lunch, or it could be that I now find myself to be completely unemployed.

I couldnt have asked for a better last day. We took our clients to the local science museum. Its always fun to take gang members to geeky places. They secretly enjoy it and play with the cool exhibits, but they would die if you knew they thought it was anything other than l-a-m-e.

One of our clients in foster care brought along his foster brother, Anthony. You know how some women can feel their biological clock ticking? Well, hanging out with kids like Anthony makes my adoption clock tick extra loud. He’s nine and the coolest future scientist/math teacher I’ve ever met. Decked out in Blazer gear from head to toe, and sporting a pink rubber breast cancer bracelet (“It means love from Jesus”), Anthony hopped in the van. After formally introducing himself with a firm handshake, he handed me a CD and instructed me to play it. “Its Lil’ Bow Wow. No bad words. Trust me. I love basketball”. I couldnt say no. As soon as “H to the Double Oh P” came on he said, “Aww yeah, turn that baby up!”

At the museum, he kept running from one exhibit to the other and asking me, “So, was that your favorite exhibit, because I’m thinking maybe it was mine”

When asked what his favorite kind of food was, he replied, “Lobster. Because its moist”

We watched an Omnimax movie on Lewis and Clark and Anthony was captivated the entire time. Afterwards at lunch, he said, “I LOVED the part where Lewis looked at Clock and then back at the ocean and then it went black and white. That was dope”

When our food arrived, he said, “Wait a minute guys, we need to take our hats off and pray”

As we pulled up back at the center, he said, “Whoever had a good time, so did I”

You can’t spend the day with sunny little kids like Anthony and not have it impact you profoundly. That was what life was like on a daily basis in Mexico. Its funny how quickly you forget. I think about Anthony and all the others just hanging out in foster care, waiting. Each year becoming less and less ‘adoptable’. If I werent a single, 22 year old unemployed college student living in a small apartment, I would be calling his caseworker right now.

It was strange leaving work. Even though I have been dreaming about this moment since I put in my notice 2 months ago, I still feel a little sick about walking away from a place that I’ve invested 2 years of my life in.

Things I will miss about work.
1) Perpetual Garage Sale Man (more about him later)
2) Clients
3) Families of clients
4) Speaking Spanish
5) Air conditioning
6) Paychecks
7) Paid vacation time
8) Quotes! Lovely, beautiful, delicious quotes from my superiors (“get me a posty note”, “multifacetless”, “intuitously”)
9) Having an interesting answer to the questions, “So what do you do?” (Drug and alcohol treatment for adolescent Spanish speaking gang members. You know, its just a job until I finish school)

Things I will not miss about work
1) Both of my bosses
2) The white noise machine*
3) Boring meetings
4) Politics
5) Having to wake up and then get dressed and leave my home
6) Whiny teenagers

And I’m spent.

*An obnoxious machine they turned on outside of offices when they didnt want us to hear what was going on.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. vasisthadas / Aug 12 2005 11:15 pm

    Does the white noice produce other synasthesiac colors? Blue smell, for instance?

    -vasmartassdas

  2. cubbiegirl / Aug 13 2005 8:40 am

    My daughter sounds like that little boy. So many amazing ones out there who just need families. I wish I could take them all home too.

  3. Kate / Aug 13 2005 10:35 am

    I thought of you, actually, because they are the same age. He was this funny combination of mature pre-teen and little boy.

  4. Kate / Aug 13 2005 10:36 am

    Cuz: I never played around with it, I was too scared. And sleepy. That thing put me right to sleep.
    Also, I dont know how you did it with your ‘spam’ comment, but that was cool.

  5. vasisthadas / Aug 13 2005 11:31 am

    Haha, I actually screwed up the code for the spam comment. Fortunately, it still kind of made sense.
    I’m glad you liked it.

  6. pete / Aug 14 2005 7:40 am

    “If I werent a single, 22 year old unemployed college student living in a small apartment, I would be calling his caseworker right now……”

    Don’t a little think like MONEY stop you… 🙂

Leave a Reply

