Skip to content
July 25, 2005 / Kate

The Great Swim

I don’t really know what to say about it. I know that it was difficult and that there were points where I thought we might have had to call out for help. I prayed a lot.

I am a pretty strong swimmer, but a bit out of practice. I also sink like a rock when I stop moving my body. So I can’t float. I couldn’t stop moving the entire time.

It was farther than we thought it would be. When we got to the other side, we were greeted with fallen trees in the water with their nasty slimy branches stabbing at our tired legs as we struggled toward land. We never actually made it to the land, we just flopped on a log and tried to hold on as the wind buffeted us. Jenna stayed in the water and kind of held on to some branches.

We sang a little bit of that song ‘them sirenes’ sang from ‘O Brother Where Art Though?’ and then decided to head back to ensure that we would arrive before dark.

The wind had picked up significantly now and we had to deal with large waves slamming into our heads.

We also had to compensate for the wind because it was not cooperating with our desire to get back home. The funny thing is, it was pushing Annie in one direction and Jenna and me in the other.

I kept shouting at Annie that she was “Going…blub…the..wrong….gurgle…way”
And she would shout back “NO! YOU are gulping the soienofihosiehh” That’s what it sounded like, anyway.

I made Jenna follow me and kept doubling back to make sure she was still breathing.

I felt like we were in the movie Castaway only without Wilson.

Obviously we made it back in one piece.

Today I feel as though I’ve been hit by a locomotive. And you already know about the sunburn.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. G. D. Aiello / Jul 25 2005 1:42 pm

    So, you were pretty freaked. You looked a little perplexed. I didn’t think you were actually all that worried about the whole death thing.

  2. Jess / Jul 26 2005 9:06 am

    When she came home, Katy claimed that she swam for a “whole quarter mile!” And I was thinking, “um, yeah, that’s not very far.” And then I saw the pictures and said “I think that was more than a quarter mile.”

  3. tyKa / Jul 26 2005 9:17 am

    Well, I usually overestimate. I was trying to be conservative

  4. G. D. Aiello / Jul 26 2005 2:09 pm

    we swam for a long long time

Leave a Reply

