Skip to content
June 22, 2005 / Kate

100 things

1. I haven’t done one of these yet and thought it was about time

2. I’m sick right now and I spend a lot of time being sick.

3. I also get a lot of random and unexplainable physical issues like giant cysts on both of my feet in the same spot, strange rashes, etc

4. I have never thought of myself as being a creative person (that’s why making earrings is strange for me)

5. I panic when I can’t find my chapstick

6. I lived in Mexico for 2 years. So, habblo espannol mucho bueno

7. I am terrible at math and I freeze up when I need to do multiplication on the spot

8. I sometimes listen to Portand’s hip hop station in search of blog entry titles

9. I really like taking the bus

10. I get obsessed with things like mangos or grapefruit or the color green until I get sick of them.

11. I am a lazy writer. If I tried, I could be an okay writer, but I can’t seem to find the energy. Jess does enough for both of us

12. I love my neighborhood

13. And my apartment

14. I picked up my boyfriend at Trader Joe’s

15. In the wine aisle

16. I am extremely shy and self conscious (which is why #14 is so funny)

17. I have this weird fascination with Britney Spears. She makes me really sad and depressed, but I just cant look away.

18. Im not good about apostrophes

19. Except when it comes to showing possession. I hate it when there are signs in a window that say “All Couch’s on Sale!”

20. 100 things is a lot of things

21. I am really into gardening and homesteadery things that used to make me roll my eyes

22. I have incredibly pudgy fingers

23. My grades are slipping

24. For the first time in my life, I don’t really care

25. I have one tattoo. I probably won’t get another one

26. I miss the children I used to work with in Mexico. But I don’t write them anymore.

27. I am selfish

28. I have a difficult relationship with my mother

29. Cantaloupe makes the roof of my mouth itch

30. I am having an affair with asparagus

31. I only like chocolate sometimes

32. I don’t really like pie

33. I am terrified of getting old and helpless

34. I’m 22

35. I want to adopt a child

36. I want to teach my children to speak Spanish

37. I still haven’t figured out this whole Mac thing

38. I hate cilantro so, so much

39. You all know about the foam issues

40. I enjoy school. I just get distracted by the rest of my life sometimes

41. I remember being a very fearful child. I cried and cried when the boys in kindergarten pretended to make a campfire with blocks and red crayons

42. I went through an entire box of tissue today

43. I have 4 godchildren (spell check wanted me to replace godchildren with ‘stockholders’)

44. I have to pee

45. We live across the street from a good Thai restaurant

46. I hardly ever go

47. I am tired of my job

48. I have 2 months left to go

49. I love dogs.

50. I tolerate cats

51. I love ribs

52. I have the ability to be really cold hearted

53. I have never been to Europe

54. I really want to go

55. I’m an Orthodox Christian

56. I want to live somewhere where I can have a huge garden

57. I always put on nail polish and then take it right back off

58. I’m a hypochondriac

59. I am kind of burned out on knitting

60. Making earrings makes me nauseated

61. Naps make me suicidal

62. I hate running

63. I love running

64. I miss running

65. Part of me doesnt believe that I will ever graduate from college

66. I’m terrified of not being exceptional

67. I hate it when people draw in a breathe to speak and then don’t say anything

68. I do that all the time

69. I also say, “um” like I am going to say something and then don’t

70. I’m terrified of turning into my mother

71. I will never understand amusement parks

72. I just bought a pair of roller blades

73. The first CD I ever bought was Jagged Little Pill

74. I’ve never broken a bone

75. My tailbone doesnt count. I just bent it

76. I was once accused by Homeland Security of alien smuggling

77. It’s still on my permanent record

78. The scent of lavendar makes me think of kindergarten

79. Lyle Lovett is the man

80. I blush when I talk to strangers

81. NPR frequently makes me cry

82. It’s all about the french pressed B&B

83. I own too many pairs of Danskos

84. I enjoy shredding paper

85. I am terrible at keeping in touch with people

86. The wind is my evil enemy

87. Wine is good

88. So is beer

89. I do things to the extreme. The TV volume as high as it can go, all the lights on

90. I can never seem to hang on to umbrellas and water bottles. I dont know where they all end up

91. I laugh a lot in church

92. Mr. Rogers is my number one hero

93. Amy Sedaris is pretty awesome too

94. I am the oldest of four. The youngest is 7

95. There are four open wine bottles currently on our table

96. I like having people over to our yellow home

97. I am starting to get sick of Portland weather after 15 years of living here

98. I don’t wear makeup

99. My roommate and I look like sisters

100. My couch is red.

19 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dad / Jun 22 2005 10:38 pm

    1) I think you are already exceptional.
    2) I can explain the campfire phobia if you dont remember where it comes from.

  2. Nikki / Jun 22 2005 10:39 pm

    I remember number 76…. wow that was an interesting time

  3. Jess / Jun 22 2005 10:45 pm

    I especially like numbers 62 through 64.

    I think your godchildren should be your stockholders. Sort of a dual role. I mean, what’s in it for you?

  4. toni / Jun 22 2005 11:24 pm

    yes, i was particularly attracted to 62-64 as well.

    that does it. tomorrow i’m making a 100 list. check my blog & hold me to it.

  5. badpenny / Jun 22 2005 11:44 pm

    I feel the same way about pie. It’s my dirty little secret.

  6. dad / Jun 23 2005 7:13 am

    This list is more fun when read from 100 down to 1.

  7. jessenicholas / Jun 23 2005 7:25 am

    I know we’re really not supposed to tell the alien smuggling story. But hot damn! Is it good!!! I have captivated many an audience with that story. Keep ’em comin’!
    I particularly enjoy embellishing the part about the big burly female imigration interrogator.
    “I mean we’re talkin’ WNBA meets heavy construction!”

  8. dad / Jun 23 2005 7:44 am

    “…not supposed to tell that story..” What’s that about? Why not?

  9. tyKa / Jun 23 2005 8:23 am

    Campfire phobia? Tell the story Dad

  10. dad / Jun 23 2005 10:07 am

    Once upon a time, your Kindergarten teacher called me at work to say that there had been some play amongst the children that involved making a play fire by hitting rocks together. Apparently, you ran in terror and hid and told your teacher that you were afraid of fire.

    It seems that this event followed after an incident involving a candle and your hair, when you lived up on HWY 20 in that trailer doo-hickey with your mom. Apparently, a candle fell and caught your hair on fire for a brief moment and it freaked you out.

    I would not view your childhood as a fearful one. Just that time.

  11. ThenDad / Jun 23 2005 5:22 pm

    The End

  12. tyKa / Jun 23 2005 5:57 pm

    Oh yeah! My hair caught on fire and I was really scared of it for years

  13. dad / Jun 23 2005 6:08 pm

    Uh huh. How do you feel about candles now? Can you share?

  14. dad / Jun 23 2005 6:23 pm

    Also, were you told not to talk about the transporting an alien thing?

  15. tyKa / Jun 23 2005 6:38 pm

    I’m fine about candles now.
    We were told not to talk about it in Mexico, but there isnt a lot anyone could do about it now. I like to tell that story on a first date. Not that I have many first dates these days

  16. vasisthadas / Jun 23 2005 7:06 pm

    I was a little weird about fire for a while. A little part of me still has feelings, I guess. Watching your house burn will do that to you, I guess.

  17. dad/U.N. / Jun 23 2005 7:17 pm

    tyka – I hope you can talk about it. I remember when this was America and you didn’t have to keep a low profile when you were WRONGFULLY ARRESTED.

    Philip – I mean “Vasisthadas” – You have a great fire story to tell. Can one get the whole burnt enchilada on YOUR blog, or whut? I would like to hear your take on what happened. You were the one most at risk as I recall, recall I not correctly?

  18. dad / Jun 23 2005 7:56 pm

    Does #99 mean that I look like your roommate’s dad, too? Are we all Molly Ringwald in this virtual life?

  19. vasisthadas / Jun 24 2005 2:47 pm

    Neenaw- I don’t believe I’ve blogged about the fire yet. I might sometime in the future, but I don’t think I will just now.
    Also, you do recall correctly.

Leave a Reply

