Skip to content
June 9, 2005 / Kate

orange bisquick

My earrings are making their debut this weekend at the farmer’s market where my dad has a booth.

Yesterday I had to ship them to him and went to UPS. I explained to the guy behind the counter what I needed to do and he said, “why don’t you just come into the back room and we’ll do it together?”
Well, I never.
“I don’t normally do this, but you seem nice” he said.

We went in the back room and individually wrapped up my earrings while chatting about life and roommates and seasonal allergies. I kept sneezing all over the table.

It was pleasant and I thought it must be fun to work at UPS sometimes. As I came out, a customer mistook me for an employee and asked me for help. Noticing the sunglasses on top of my head and my purse in my hand, she apologized.

I shipped my earrings to what I hope is my father’s address and now its all in his hands.

Be careful with my babies, Dad!

There Jesse, you happy? I told a story.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jess / Jun 9 2005 1:48 pm

    1. what you saying about me?
    2. orange bisquick?
    3. that’s not really UPS. It’s a franchise store. I’m up on these things, yo.
    4. thanks for the story.

  2. dad / Jun 9 2005 5:44 pm

    Nice story. Great earrings. Lots of ’em, too! I just got home and opened the box. I’ll do my best.

  3. LousyCook / Jun 9 2005 7:42 pm

    I worked for UPS, and I can tell you that it’s not that great. The company has all of these ridiculous policies that have nothing to do with anything whatsoever. For example, men are not allow to have any facial hair (other than a moustache). Honestly! What sense does that make? There were plenty of other stupid policies as well, which is ultimately, why I left.

    I rarely ship UPS anymore — I try to avoid it.

  4. Kate / Jun 9 2005 9:06 pm

    lousy: I was kidding about working there.
    jess: I just told him where you worked and the kind of stories you bring home
    dad: thanks!

  5. toni / Jun 11 2005 6:47 am

    i would rather work at FedEx.

    i’m signed up to get email alerts when there is a FedEx job opening in my area. i’ve been signed up for about a year and i’ve only gotten two. one this last week. but i don’t think i’m really cut out for heavy lifting right now.

    also, congratuations on the earrings!!! tell us how it goes.

Leave a Reply

