Skip to content
June 6, 2005 / Kate

In which I gain some perspective for the billionth time

Yesterday I spent the afternoon with my friend Lourdes and her family. I don’t visit much because its a bit of a drive and I always end up staying much later than I should. Her daughter, Kayley is my goddaughter and I am head over heels in love with her. She was sick and drugged up from the medicine her mother gave her. She looks like Dora the Explorer, but cuter.

I feel like I am back in Mexico when I visit there. There are always lots of people coming and going. I sit curled up on their couch, sipping my horchata, trying to figure out who lives there and who is visiting. They always have someone living with them and their couches and floors are full of people at night. Their tiny, spotless two bedroom apartment somehow fits 10 people comfortably. Lourdes feeds everyone constantly whether they are hungry or not.

I absorb the conversation that moves effortlessly between Mayan and Spanish and try to keep up with the conversation. They tell humorous stories about being stopped by the police and getting their driver’s license. They give each other advice about how to handle your racist boss and make sure you get your paycheck.

They talk about home in southern Mexico and the people they have left behind. They all work two jobs and send money back to their families. Many have kids living with grandparents there.

I get all embarrassed when they ask me how my job is going and I don’t tell them that I am quitting at the end of the summer in order to go to school full time. I reluctantly pulled out my expensive camera in order to take photos of Kayley.

I have a hard time ending posts. I never have been able to end papers in school very well either. I’ve said what I wanted to say, and now I don’t want to talk anymore. I guess this is my blog and I can do what I want. So goodbye.

P.S. The stupid Blogger Spellcheck does not recognize the word “blog”

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dad / Jun 6 2005 2:01 pm

    Could you tell them that you are quitting your job, to go to school, so you can get a job like the one you have? How would that translate? (This is a rhetorical blog for thought, no need to answer).

    Cute DoraPie.

  2. Kate / Jun 6 2005 2:03 pm

    Yeah, that would make so much sense to them. She is cute. She makes little woofing sounds, but doesnt talk yet. Perhaps because she is learning 3 languages at once

  3. dad / Jun 6 2005 6:40 pm

    Woof,woof. Do they have a doggie?

  4. Kate / Jun 6 2005 9:01 pm

    No, she just woofs

  5. toni / Jun 9 2005 8:22 am

    my 13 month old friend, E, has just started woofing. when the dog barks (they DO have a dog) she says, “woof woof.” not back to the dog. just kind of in acknowledgement.

Leave a Reply

