Skip to content
June 1, 2005 / Kate

Not for people who can’t handle a story about flappy finger stubs

Keith was already in a bad mood yesterday before he cut the tip of his finger off. Yep, that’s right. His violin career is over.
He was washing a wine glass last night(I knew that this career path was a bad idea) and it broke in his hand. And severed his finger. We actually couldn’t tell how bad it was because of ALL THE BLOOD. There was blood all over the floor and sink. But it was just this flappy stub. He was freaking out. I was fairly calm. I tried to brush my hair before heading to the hospital and he said, “um, I don’t want to lose my finger Kate. Can we hurry it up?” We hopped in my car and I drove him to the nearest hospital.
We arrived and got him all checked in and temporarily bandaged and then were told to wait. I love hospital waiting rooms. What with all the sick/bleeding people and the screaming, sweaty children in their pajamas and the Cartoon Network blasting from the overhead television.
There was a little girl near us who was running around and I started playing with her. I said, “are you sick?” her mother replied from across the room, “she has a BOIL on her VAGINA”
Oh.

We finally got seen around midnight and got the WORST MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL IN THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE to wash out Keith’s wound. She ripped and tore and squeezed until Keith was writhing around and yelling at her to please stop. She then bandaged it up while HOLDING IT OPEN so that the bandage was all inside the wound and it closed around the bandage!!!!! Keith started freaking out and she got all bitchy about it and told him that she would talk to the doctor about it. He made her undo it and give him new dressing so that he could wrap it himself. She left and we had to wait another eternity for them to give us a piece of paper telling us to keep it clean.

Not the ideal way to spend your Tuesday night.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jess / Jun 1 2005 9:51 am

    Not ideal indeed. Did this all happen after you left last night? Wow.

  2. Kate / Jun 1 2005 9:53 am

    No, before. I just didnt tell you about it.
    Yes, it did. It was VERY late. I am VERY tired and cranky today.

  3. jess / Jun 1 2005 11:10 am

    Rrrrrr….

  4. Kate / Jun 1 2005 11:15 am

    Rrrrr

  5. Maren / Jun 1 2005 1:51 pm

    Rrrr

  6. vasisthadas / Jun 1 2005 3:43 pm

    I HATE it when I get boils on my vagina!

  7. dad / Jun 1 2005 8:40 pm

    OMG! (did I use that correctly?, I’m new)

  8. dad / Jun 1 2005 8:41 pm

    What is the prognosis for Keith’s finger? AND more importantly, how does the doctor think his finger will turn out?

  9. Kate / Jun 2 2005 10:05 am

    It will be fine, it looks like. It was such a clean cut that it started to fuse back together as soon as we undid the damage of the Crazy Nurse. The doctor said that stitches would be helpful, but expensive and we could get away without them. It looks like it will be just fine. Maybe a little scar and a little loss of feeling in the tip.

  10. Kate / Jun 2 2005 10:21 am

    Yes, Dad. Good job. And you can also say WTF? or WTH?

  11. dad / Jun 2 2005 11:32 am

    Tks. Are those my only options? Do you kids have a dictionary of abbr. I can study. I want to learn.

  12. Kate / Jun 2 2005 12:03 pm

    Pops:
    No, we dont as of yet. I try to avoid all the abbreviations as much as possinle. LOL is the one I hate the most

  13. dad / Jun 2 2005 9:50 pm

    Thanks, hun. I will ask your cousin CharlotteSometimes. She seems to use abbr. as much as possinle.
    Thanks again. And again, thanks.
    I have my Farmers Market debut Saturday, wish me luck and send me earrings.

  14. Kate / Jun 3 2005 8:27 am

    I have to get earring display cards and a display tree thingy. I was thinking I could just have you take them when you come to visit on Papa’s Day. Cuz I dont want to mail them and have them destroyed–>

Leave a Reply

