Skip to content
May 25, 2005 / Kate

Craftiness all the day long will they meditate

I used to hate being crafty. I never made things. Homemade was for losers. I was rebelling against my Waldorf childhood and my urban homesteader mom and all her ways of pickles from scratch and rabbits from the backyard for dinner. She used to make me help her can for the winter and knit Christmas presents. I refused to love it.

When I got my own job and started being more independant, I became the uber consumer. I bought everything. I loved being able to go out and purchase whatever I wanted.

Now that I am 22 and have linked up with the Woodsy Lord Himself, I have made a complete circle and become full on Homesteader Housewife material. Scary!

I knit, sew, make earrings(!), bake and cook. I have a garden AND a worm bin (with worms inside after this weekend). I want to learn how to make CHEESE for goodness sake. What happened to me?

I don’t know what happened, but I seem to be ‘touching my roots’ as Ballstein from Zoolander said. And I like it. Very much.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. toni / May 25 2005 2:41 pm

    the third from the last (i believe) chapter of “little house in the big woods” tells how to make cheese. read it.

  2. jess / May 25 2005 9:18 pm

    Roots are good. Hey, I’m getting all culty these days.

  3. jess / May 25 2005 9:19 pm

    PS I LOVE the title.

  4. dad / May 25 2005 9:27 pm

    There are also some great cheese recipes on the internet, I have found. Depends on what kind you want to make. I want to make my own cream cheese, so I can pump out those Danish’s by the hundreds.
    I’m glad to see these newfound leanings of yours.

  5. Kate / May 25 2005 9:55 pm

    That title has been going through my head all day. Without an entry. The entry came to me after I typed in the title.
    My first Dad post! Thanks! I am going to look into it. I want to make brie, but that might be stupid hard.
    Did you make cream cheese? Was it good? Can we have danishes for breakfast on Saturday?

  6. dad / May 25 2005 10:04 pm

    Yes. My first post. Did I do well?
    I have not made cream cheese yet, but I do have a lot of it on hand, and YES! we could have Danishes for breakfast. Im glad you axed. I want to get production-line good at them, so I can sell them at the Farmers Market. Hows that for downhome granola style roots? I will be using an empty cream cheese tub for your very important worm transport operation. I have not told them yet. I thought I would let them meet you first.

  7. Kate / May 26 2005 8:25 am

    The worms will probably need to call you when they get to Portland and maybe write letters after that to make their transition go smoothly.
    I hope that they do not burst into flames while sitting in the hot-as-hell car
    Mmmm…danishes
    I want to sell things at the farmer’s market. I already have people asking to buy my earrings. I wish Sellwood had one…

  8. vasisthadas / May 26 2005 9:57 am

    I made some cheese earlier. Here was my recipe:

    1 Safeway grocer
    3 dollars (US)
    19 cents (US)

    Preparation:
    Begin by walking to the store. Clean up by walking back. Combine ingredients to produce 1 block Swiss cheese.

    I know I kind of cheated by using artificial ingredients, but the cheese tastes all right.

  9. Kate / May 26 2005 10:52 am

    Is it all melty and hot from the walk? Life is hot here. Oh sad.

  10. jess / May 26 2005 12:03 pm

    There’s a farmer’s market in Milwaukie for crying out loud.

  11. Kate / May 26 2005 12:20 pm

    excuse me, I didnt realize. I think that one would do very well in Sellwood

  12. jess / May 26 2005 12:53 pm

    I think it would, too. Alls I’m saying is there’s one down the street, so to speak.

  13. Kate / May 26 2005 12:56 pm

    Well I did not know that. Thank you for informing me.

  14. dad / May 26 2005 11:20 pm

    Not to worry, worms dont burn. However, if they BAKE in the car…mmmmm…worms

  15. Kate / May 27 2005 9:03 am

    We can have toasted worms to snack on for the car ride home

Leave a Reply

