Skip to content
May 15, 2005 / Kate

Whoa nelly

Wow. Okay that was heavy. Sorry.
I had to get it off my chest.

Man, I am in a funk. I dont have any funny little stories to tell. I do have a request, though. Toni, plug your ears.

Maren, Jess, two gals from work and I are training for a 5K. We have formed a running club and want to make this a regular thing. We are planning on running a half marathon in July. We need your help in naming our group. The only thing we have thought of so far is the River Rats because our training route is along the river. But we arent crazy about it and want some suggestions.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jess / May 15 2005 11:57 pm

    Eff-why-eye: I am NOT training for a half-freaking-marathon. Just a leetle 5K. That’s it. I’m creating a boundary.

    Toni, I’m so sorry if you were exposed to this.

  2. jessenicholas / May 16 2005 8:57 am

    WOW! So much textbook Psych major goodness! Boundary setting! Overbearing mothers! Standard second guessing and apologizing following vulnerable self exposure! I could write a paper!

    But I won’t because I have the classic “I’ll never write as well as my father” complex. Crap.

    Oh well. Love you Katy.

    =)

  3. vasisthadas / May 16 2005 8:58 am

    Oh! Oh! You could be The Monkees!
    Or the Mongooses. The Fighting Mongooses.

  4. toni / May 16 2005 9:29 pm

    you don’t want to hear what i think your little group should be named. i’ll just $#*&#(*& keep it to myself. but i will say this. the capital city marathon was yesterday in olympia and i experienced all of the following: homicidal impulses, tears, envy, depression.

  5. Bill / May 16 2005 9:50 pm

    How about the Hallmark Teddy Bears?

  6. Bill / May 16 2005 9:54 pm

    btw, I ran the Houston Marathon in 1999 and 2000 and I remember the little kid who exclaimed to his Mom “Lookit that fat old man! Do you think he’s gonna die?”

    And if I had had any strength left at that point I would have grabbed that miserable little spawn by the neck and snarled, “No, but you are!”

    Alas, I shuffled on.

  7. Kate / May 16 2005 10:34 pm

    The Hallmark Bears are the children of the AntiChrist.

    I almost peed on the red couch when I read your story. That was a close one.

  8. Kate / May 16 2005 10:39 pm

    Oh PitaPocket. I’m sorry. You should take up sign language or go cart racing or olympic knitting

  9. toni / May 16 2005 10:52 pm

    you just redeemed yourself by giving me the most endearing nickname ever. fuck. now i have to like you again. um… let’s see… i’m going to think long and hard about a new hobby, and then NOBODY CAN COPY ME. deal?

  10. toni / May 16 2005 10:53 pm

    and, in case you think my reaction to this whole topic is a little… um… over the top. i have an appointment with my therapist tomorrow. and i will be addressing this issue. rest assured.

  11. Kate / May 16 2005 11:50 pm

    Deal. But what if you want a companion?

  12. jess / May 16 2005 11:52 pm

    I asked Kate where she got PitaPocket from and she said “my little head…?”

  13. toni / May 17 2005 7:56 am

    um… i might want a companion with my new hobby. depends on what it is. if it turns out i do, i may recruit one or two. we’ll see.

    from “her little head” sounds very simliar to how lis got the idea for Town Pocket.

  14. jess / May 23 2005 11:48 am

    According to Maren the idea (from her dad) was River Cats, not rats. I think I liked Rats better. But I still don’t like it. No ideas.

Leave a Reply

