Skip to content
May 6, 2005 / Kate

Uh Oh

I, uh, kinda put in my notice at work. Shit. I think this means that I won’t get paid anymore. Crap. What was I thinking? What possessed me to do such a thing? Can I have a do-over, are there any take-backsies?

I actually did think this through and do still feel that it is the right decision for me, but its sooo scary. Scarier than The Ring. My job is such a huge part of my identity. When people ask, “what do you do?” I always have an interesting answer that I can be proud of. Now what? A full time student? I’ve never been ‘just a student’ in my whole life! I have bills to pay! I have a car payment! What am I doing???

Its going to be okay just as long as I dont hyperventilate.

I will leave at the end of the summer. I decided to do this so that I can focus on school and get it done because it is taking me forever at the pace I am going. My job takes a lot of my time and energy and it was really hard this past year to juggle both. I will have a practicum every term this year and it is impossible to schedule everything with work. So I quit. I’m a quitter.

The funny thing is that I have a job that many of my classmates hope to get after they graduate. But I am not digging it enough to hold on to it until I finish. I want to work with little kids. Not surly ganster teenagers.

Okay, that’s enough whining. I’ll get over it, I’m just scared right now. I know I made the right decision. Right?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. vasisthadas / May 6 2005 9:33 am

    Did you just hand in your notice, or did you do the whole “Fuck you. Fuck you. Fuck you. YOU’RE cool. Fuck you. I’m outa here.” from Half Baked? If you didn’t say the line, it isn’t official. You have to go back and do it again.

  2. Kate / May 6 2005 9:50 am

    I am saving that for my last day whereupon I will grab my precious Swingline stapler and light the match as I cruise out the door.
    Not really. They are very nice people and nice to me and I am nice to them and it is all very nice.

  3. jess / May 6 2005 10:00 am

    But once you’re done you can blog about work! At least you have that to console you as you starve.

  4. Kate / May 6 2005 10:22 am

    That is seriously something that is a HUGE consolation. Because I am surrounded by incredible blog fodder every day. Its killing me

  5. NWJR / May 6 2005 12:58 pm

    A year ago, I left the only “real” full-time job I’ve ever had after nearly 18 years. It’s great to know the exit door is available, and it’s even better to periodically use it.

    Just don’t burn your bridges…

  6. Kate / May 6 2005 2:37 pm

    Good advice

  7. toni / May 12 2005 3:16 pm

    i am doing the same. at the end of the summer i’m leaving my job – to put all my energy into the internship that is the culmination of school for me. it’s scary. and i don’t know what will happen with money. but i’m trusting that it will work out somehow. it will. for both of us.

  8. Kate / May 12 2005 4:54 pm

    Good for you, Toni. I’m glad you are doing that. I think it is so good to immerse yourself in school. Because we can. Yeah, it willall work out

Leave a Reply

